The Honickman Foundation


Taneum Bambrick, Vantage

We are happy to announce that Taneum Bambrick has been selected as the 2019 APR/Honickman First Book Prize winner for her manuscript, Vantage. Selected by poet Sharon Olds from over 900 submissions, the book will be published in September 2019 and distributed by Copper Canyon Press through Consortium.

Taneum is currently a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University. Her chapbook, Reservoir, was selected by Ocean Vuong for the 2017 Yemassee Chapbook Prize.

A graduate of the University of Arizona's MFA program, Taneum is the winner of an Academy of American Poets University Prize, a Susanna Colloredo Environmental Writing Fellowship from the Vermont Studio Arts Center, and the 2018 BOOTH Nonfiction Contest.

Her poems and essays appear (or are forthcoming) in The Missouri Review, Blackbird, Passages North, The Southeast Review, Hayden's Ferry Review, and elsewhere.

Taneum has received support from the Sewanee Writers' Conference and the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference.

About the Prize

Recent Poetry Winners

In This Section